Who’s That Girl? Christy vs. Naomi

Every week Amil Niazi styles the Robber mannequins and then takes you on a sartorial spirit quest, finding the stories buried in the silk and wool. Check out her modern fairytales and then vote for your favourite!

I believe it was celebrated Chilean poet Pablo Neruda who so famously said, “Ugggggggggggggh this weather, am I right?” Fugghedaboutit! Time to play summer make believe with these bad beauties, plus wish a Felice Navidad to Robber who turned four this week!

Christy

Christy

Do you know someone who is so busy all the time but not in a stressed out kind of way, just in a “killing-it at life” kind of way? Someone who has like, a million projects on the go but still has super shiny hair and weirdly unblotchy skin AND is so cool about it that she never even makes you feel like a lazy bones to your face. When you’re on her couch mewling about “wah wah my hangover and booo why is it so hard to find enough time in the day to do laundry and watch a marathon of Keeping Up with the Kardashians?”, she’s all “totally, I hear you,” meanwhile she’s sending all these documents using the cloud or whatever and colour coordinating her shoe closet. The only reason you don’t hate Christy so hard is because she does all this in a killer creme lounge suit (Filippa K drapey crepe blouse $159, BASE Range sweatpants $130, Cursive Design Compass Necklace, $65, Cursive Design Colour Theory Necklace, $70) that sure, is technically sweatpants and a t-shirt but is also way more of a power suit than any gabardine, shoulder padded nonsense I’ve ever seen. You go, girlfriend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Naomi

naomi

Okay, basically it’s 1995, I’m in grade 7 and those CK crop-tops are pretty much the coolest things that the entire student body of D.A. Morrison junior high ever laid their stupid, horny eyes on. Obviously, my very-cool-but-still-kind-of-strict-in-a-brown way parents were like, “Noooooooooo. No,” so I just watched from the sidelines as all my friends were baring midriff. Hello? I had never even heard the word midriff before and now I was completely obsessed. Anyway, true story, one day my friend Alicia said I could borrow hers, so for three whole periods I got to flex like I was Kate Moss, I mean, I even carried my binder on my friggin’  head so everyone was 100 per cent sure that I was doing this look on purpose. But then just before music class the principal made me change for being too distracting which I argued was sexist in vain for at least 10 minutes and then I put my dumb, midriff-concealing normal shirt back on. Long story short, how cute is this top? The thing about Naomi here is that she’s just super chill and super west coast and she’s not afraid of pulling out that midriff because she knows you’re so busy applauding her mixed prints (Wood Wood Leslie top $175, Minimarket Isis shorts $165) that you don’t even have time to get distracted by her tanned tum.

So who won you over this week, Christy or Naomi? Scroll down for the poll!
Girls

Leave a Reply

